History Databases

Library News

South Jersey Paranormal Research - more...

Sex in the Sea - more...

"New Jersey's Southern Shore" - Susan Miller - more...

Fall Author's Luncheon - Barbara Delinsky - more...

Communications Computers Now Available- more...

Sign up for a free Literature Consultant- more...

Non-Resident Card Fee Increase - more...

Children's programs - Summer 2008 - more...

Email Reference Service - more...

Library Book Blog - more...

Free Wireless Internet - at the library - more...

Email newsletter - get the latest events - more...

Audiobooks - download free audiobooks with your library card - more...

BookNews - electronic newsletters about a wide variety of books - more...

Online Book Clubs - have sample portions of books delivered to your email - more...

JerseyClicks - premium online resources available for free - more...

Postcard to the Troops - more...

Adopt a Platoon - more...

? - more...

History Databases

African American Newspapers: the 19th century

(Library use only)

This Enormous Collection of African- American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. They also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.

African American History and Culture

Remote Access (use library card number)

Drawn from many of Facts On File's critically acclaimed print titles, African-American History & Culture explores all aspects of the African-American experience. Combining a powerful search engine with high-quality and reliable content, this comprehensive database features informative and extensively hyperlinked entries, including photographs and maps, timelines, primary sources, and biographies.

American Counties to 1900

(Library use only)

The full text searchabilty, will permit the student/researcher to instantly explore all the publications of a particular county by using a single query. In addition, those wishing to read or browse the text on a page by page basis, may do so in the original format by merely scrolling down the screen and then continuing to the next chapter. The Table of Contents is hyperlinked to each chapter as well as to each individual illustration. The user can select a particular graphic from the List of Illustrations, and proceed immediately to it by clicking on the highlighted text.

American History Online

Remote Access (use library card number)

American History Online provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the history of America and its people. American History Online is the ideal source for research on U.S. history. Spanning more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, thousands of biographies, subject entries, chronology entries, primary source documents, maps, and images cover the entire spectrum of the American experience

American Historical Images: An On-line Archive

Remote Access (use library card number)

Thousands of hyperlinked images, depicting key people, places, events, and issues in the development of the united states. (This service was partially funded by the South Jersey Regional Library Cooperative.)

American Indian History and Culture

Remote Access (use library card number)

This fascinating and unique resource gives users fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and biographies. More than 500 Native American groups are presented through primary source documents, maps and charts, and images.

American Women's History: An On-line Encyclopedia

Remote Access (use library card number)

In this unique reference, users will find biographies, historical and topical subject entries, speeches, documents, maps, charts, photographs and a timeline that covers the broad spectrum of American Women's history. (This service was partially funded by the South Jersey Regional Library Cooperative.)

Ancient and Medieval History and Culture

Remote Access (use library card number)

This comprehensive database gives a balanced, global view of the ancient world as it explores six civilizations—Africa, Egypt, Greece, Rome, Mesopotamia, and Mesoamerica. Spanning the period from the early Hominids 3 to 5 million years ago to flourishing cultures in 600 CE, this invaluable resource features entries that are fully hyperlinked and searchable within each database, offering an unprecedented wealth of information about these civilizations and their places in history.

The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective

(Library use only)

This database contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. The text begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox, and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. A great effort has been made also to include articles which describe other than military concerns of the day. These include such topics as travel, arts and leisure, geographical descriptions, sports and sporting, social events, etc.

Godey's Lady Book (1830-1880)

(Library use only)

In 1830, in Philadelphia, Louis Antoine Godey (1804-1878) commenced the publication of Godey`s Lady`s Book which he designed specifically to attract the growing audience of American women.
The magazine was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. In addition to extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, etc. Each issue also contained two pages of sheet music, written essentially for the piano forte. Gradually the periodical matured into an important literary magazine and contained extensive book reviews and works by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Edgar Allen Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow and many other celebrated 19th century authors who regularly furnished the magazine with essays, poetry and short stories. The Lady`s Book was also a vast reservoir of handsome illustrations, which included hand-colored fashion plates, mezzotints, engravings, woodcuts, and ultimately chromolithographs. (Completed through December 1880: Includes 45,000 pages and 18,000 images).

Historical New York Times (1851-Present)

(Ask at Reference Desk for remote access)

The New York Times (1851-1999) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

History Resource Center: U.S.

Remote Access (use library card number)

Provides integrated access to over 1,000 historical (primary) documents, more then 30,000 reference articles, and over 65 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes access to the citations for over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index. (This service was partially funded by the South Jersey Regional Library Cooperative.)

History Resource Center: World

Remote Access (use library card number)

History Resource Center: World seamlessly integrates 17 reference sources from Gale, Macmillan and Scribner, along with full-text articles from over 100 academic journals. Over 1,500 primary source documents, including some native language documents with new translations, from Primary Source Microfilm Collections are included, with a high percentage that never have been available electronically in the United States before. Historical news sources, 500 maps, 1,000 images, and statistical information.

Landmark Documents in American History: An On-line Archive

Remote Access (use library card number)

Provides 500 years worth of U.S. historical documents, easily searchable, and an excellent resource for grades 4-12. (This service was partially funded by the South Jersey Regional Library Cooperative.)

Making of America

(free web site)

Digital Library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Modern World History Online

Remote Access (Type in library card number)

World History Online is designed to adhere to the school curriculum, and content is organized by the National Standards for World History. Users will find the attractive layout, logical organization, and authoritative information unsurpassed by any online reference source. Full citations accompany each entry.

About Us | Site Map | Library Policy | Contact Us| Staff Login | ©2008 The Ocean City Free Public Library