Literature Databases

Library News

American Trains in Hollywood Feature Films - more...

Author & Illustrator Connie Colker Steiner - more...

Communications Computers Now Available- more...

Sign up for a free Literature Consultant- more...

Database test trials - more...

Non-Resident Card Fee Increase - more...

Peggy meets Andrew Gross - more...

Peggy meets Harlan Coben - more...

Children's programs - Summer 2008 - more...

Email Reference Service - more...

Library Book Blog - more...

Free Wireless Internet - at the library - more...

Email newsletter - get the latest events - more...

Audiobooks - download free audiobooks with your library card - more...

BookNews - electronic newsletters about a wide variety of books - more...

Online Book Clubs - have sample portions of books delivered to your email - more...

JerseyClicks - premium online resources available for free - more...

Postcard to the Troops - more...

Adopt a Platoon - more...

Literature Databases

American Verse Project

(free web site)

Collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.

Bibliomania

(free web site)

Free Online Literature with more than 2000 Classic Texts.

Classic Reader

(free web site)

Read, search, and annotate great works of literature by authors such as Dickens, Tolstoy, Shakespeare, and many others.

Contemporary Authors

Remote Access (use library card number)

Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. (Provided by the New Jersey State Library).

Essay Finder

Remote Access (use library card number)

Essay Finder is a unique database of full-text essays and discursive writing based on books published in the 20th century which have been analyzed in standard library indexes. The essays focus on the humanities and social sciences, and include biographies and literary criticism. Subjects include literature, history, economics, sociology, art and architecture, philosophy, psychology, science and drama. The controlled vocabulary subject access provides for precise searching. Full bibliographic information and Library of Congress subject classifications are provided for source books.

Literary Reference Online

Remote Access (use library card number)

Based on Facts On File's extensive print literature collection, Literary Reference Online examines the lives and works of great writers throughout history. Unlike many resources, this database not only contains information on thousands of authors and their major and minor works, but also an archive of 35,000 characters, as well as extensive glossary and subject entries featuring historical events and their impact on literature. As diverse as it is authoritative, Literary Reference Online includes hyperlinked entries on world writers, literary criticism, minor and major characters, and literary genres and movements.

Literature Resource Center

Remote Access (use library card number)

Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series. Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 full-text titles. (This service was partially funded by the South Jersey Regional Library Cooperative.) Including Scriber, Twayne's U.S. and World Authors.

Literary Reference Center

Remote Access (use library card number)

Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works and is an essential resource for public, academic and high school libraries.

Novelist

Remote Access (use library card number)

Electronic reader's advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles. Novelist allows readers to use a favorite author or title as a template to locate other authors and titles of interest. Contains materials for all ages. Provided by the New Jersey State Library

Online Texts Collection

(free web site)

Contains over 18,000 titles that can be browsed by author, by title, or by Dewey Decimal Classification.
Poem Finder

Play Finder

Remote Access (use library card number)

Over 1,000 complete plays covering the range of dramatic expression: including one-act plays, puppet plays, Harlinquinades, tragedies, gothic, children's, religious, romantic, historical, children's and comedic plays. The collection includes many nationalities, all in English or English translations. Plays are analyzed for subjects, and also list all characters. This database will continue to grow with periodic updates to the most complete single-source for full-text plays available.

Poem Finder

Remote Access (use library card number)

Provides coverage of all well - known anthologized poems, and in depth coverage and complete works of many poets. 750,000 indexed poems and 70,000 full text poems.

Reader's Guide- Full Text

Remote Access (use library card number)

Readers’ Guide Full Text, Select Edition is a 100% full-text database containing comprehensive indexing, abstracting, and full text of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada.

Story Finder

Remote Access (use library card number)

Provides thousands of full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies, pictures and more. Updated constantly with classic and contemporary stories.

About Us | Site Map | Library Policy | Contact Us| Staff Login | ©2008 The Ocean City Free Public Library