Library News
American Trains in Hollywood Feature Films - more...
Author & Illustrator Connie Colker Steiner - more...
South Jersey Paranormal Research - more...
Communications Computers Now Available- more...
Sign up for a free Literature Consultant- more...
Database test trials - more...
Non-Resident Card Fee Increase - more...
Peggy meets Andrew Gross - more...
Peggy meets Harlan Coben - more...
Children's programs - Summer 2008 - more...
Email Reference Service - more...
Library Book Blog - more...
Free Wireless Internet - at the library - more...
Email newsletter - get the latest events - more...
Audiobooks - download free audiobooks with your library card - more...
BookNews - electronic newsletters about a wide variety of books - more...
Online Book Clubs - have sample portions of books delivered to your email - more...
JerseyClicks - premium online resources available for free - more...
Postcard to the Troops - more...
Adopt a Platoon - more...

Ocean City, NJ, USA
News & Newspapers Databases
Remote Access (use library card number)
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Never before could researchers pinpoint information so easily for one source or country, or any combination specified by the user.
(Ask at Reference Desk for remote access)
The New York Times (1851-Present) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Remote Access (use 3000000 as library card number)
This newspaper collection is provided by the New Jersey State Library and includes: the New York Times (full-text from January 1, 2000 to the present), plus many more national and international newspapers.
Remote Access (use library card number)
Provides full text for 139 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns. Includes full text of the Christian Science Monitor and the Los Angeles Times.
Online Newspapers (free web site) Provides links to Newspaper websites throughout the world. Arranged geographically by continent and then country.
(free web site)
Provides links to Newspaper websites throughout the world. Arranged geographically by continent and then country.
(Library use only)
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods. Thousands of articles, editorials, letters, news items and advertisements cover the Western Hemisphere, from the Canadian Maritime Provinces, through the West Indies and North and South America, giving a detailed glimpse of issues and lifestyles of the times. Also included is the full-text of such important writings such as: the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Payne`s Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc.
(Library use only)
This database is primarily a listing of marriages, deaths and obituaries from the Village Record, published in West Chester, Pennsylvania. Included, however is information about emigration patterns, customs and traditions, important events, medical history, biographical data, etc.
(Library use only)
This database documents the industrialization of predominantly agrarian culture established by Quaker farmers in the 18th century. This collection contains full-text transcriptions of articles, advertisements, and vital statistics, providing insight into technology, business activity and material culture in a down-river milling and manufacturing community at the height of the Industrial Revolution.
This collection includes material from the following newspapers:
Delaware County American, Media, Pennsylvania;
Delaware County Republican, Darby & Chester, Pennsylvania;
The Upland Union, Chester, Pennsylvania;
Delaware County Democrat, Chester, Pennsylvania;
The Post Boy, Chester, Pennsylvania.
Remote Access (use library card number)
Complete full-text content of The Philadelphia Inquirer, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are not included.
Remote Access (use library card number)
Complete full text content of the Press of Atlantic City, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are not included.
Remote Access - Ask Reference Desk for password
The first issue of The Wall Street Journal was four pages long and sold for two cents. Today, the paper is considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. You get complete Wall Street Journal articles through our digital editions through 1984.
Remote Access (use library card number)
The complete archive of this publication of record back to 1940, which is updated every week and interconnected with related content from the other FACTS.com databases. It includes a live Reuters® newsfeed, updated hourly. Special "Top Stories" timelines deliver, decade by decade, listings linked to original coverage of top news stories back to October 1940. Original feature essays created for the online version, such as Country Profiles, Key People, Key Events, and Key Issues — plus primary documents, editorial cartoons, and a selection of newspaper editorials — round out and link to the information in the World News Digest, and place the events covered in historical perspective.