Alcoholism Pathfinder
World Wide Web Resources
Alcoholism/Substance Abuse
http://alcoholism.about.com/
“Informational page about alcoholism with topics including: 12 step information, adult children of alcoholics, binge drinking, birth defects, brain damage, college drinking, codependency, denial, enabling, etc.”
The Big Book Online, Fourth Edition
http://www.aa.org/bigbookonline/
“The book "Alcoholics Anonymous" (now known commonly as "The Big Book") was first published in 1939. "The Big Book" is the "basic text" of Alcoholics Anonymous (AA), and outlines the central tenants of AA.”
MedlinePlus
http://www.medlineplus.gov
“A goldmine of up-to-date, quality health care information from the world's largest medical library, The National Library of Medicine at the National Institute of Health. Includes recent medical literature on alcoholism.”
National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information
http://www.health.org/
"The National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI) is the information service of the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. NCADI is the world's largest resource for current information and materials about alcohol and other drugs. NCADI services include: an information services staff equipped to respond to the public's alcohol, tobacco, and other drug (ATOD) inquiries; the distribution of free ATOD materials, including fact sheets, brochures, pamphlets, posters, and video tapes from an inventory of over 1,000 items; a repertoire of culturally-diverse prevention materials, tailored for use by parents, teachers, youth, communities and prevention professionals; customized searches in the form of annotated bibliographies from alcohol and other drug data bases consisting of over 28,000 records; the development and distribution of the Prevention Materials database (PMD) including over 8,000 prevention-related materials, available to the public in electronic form; and, rapid dissemination of Federal grant announcements and application kits for ATOD prevention programs, treatment, and research funding opportunities."
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/
“NIAAA supports and conducts biomedical and behavioral research on the causes, consequences, treatment, and prevention of alcoholism and alcohol-related problems. In addition to information about NIAAA and its activities, this site contains a large selection of publications related to alcohol and health, including national statistics and information on alcohol abuse and treatment for physicians, researchers, law enforcement, and the general public. Also included is the ETOH Database, a bibliographic database of alcohol-related research literature; Quick Facts about alcohol-related topics; and clinical trials. Some materials here are available in Spanish.”
Electronic Resources
Databases
Consumer Health Complete
Remote Access (use library card number)
Consumer Health Complete™ (CHC) is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics, including drugs & alcohol.
Print Resources
Reference
Alcoholism sourcebook : basic consumer health information about the physical and mental consequences of alcohol abuse, including liver disease, pancreatitis, Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome (alcoholic dementia), fetal alcohol syndrome, heart disease, kidney disorders, gastrointestinal problems, and immune system compromise, and featuring facts about addiction, detoxification, alcohol withdrawal, recovery, and the maintenance of sobriety; along with a glossary and directories of resources for further help and information. edited by Karen Bellenir. Detroit, MI : Omnigraphics, 2000. Call # R 616.861 AL
O'Brien, Robert. The encyclopedia of alcoholism. New York : Facts on File, c1991. Call # R 362.2 EN
Robertson, Bozena-Eva. Alcohol disabilities primer : a guide to physical and psychosocial disabilities caused by alcohol use. Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c1993. Call # R 616.86 RO
Non Fiction
Alcoholism. edited by James D. Torr. San Diego : Greenhaven Press, 2000. Call # 362.292 AL
Ketcham, Katherine. Beyond the influence : understanding and defeating alcoholism. New York : Bantam Books, 2000. Call # 362.29 KE
Miller, William R. Controlling your drinking : tools to make moderation work for you. New York : Guilford Press, c2005.
One day at a time in Al-Anon. New York : Al-Anon Family Group Headquarters, [2000], c1973. Call # 362.292 ON
Powter, Susan. Sober-- and staying that way : the missing link in the cure for alcoholism. New York : Simon & Schuster, c1997. Call # 616.861 PO
The truth about alcohol. New York : Facts on File, c2005. Call # 362.292 TR
Fiction
Jeffords, Nicole. Hearts of glass : a novel. New York : Crown Publishers, c1992. Call # F JEF

Ocean City, NJ, USA