Astronomy Pathfinder

Library News

Employment Opportunities - more...

Non-Resident Card Fee Increase - more...

YouthWorks - more...

Children's programs - Spring 2008 - more...

Email Reference Service - more...

Library Book Blog - more...

Free Wireless Internet - at the library - more...

Email newsletter - get the latest events - more...

Audiobooks - download free audiobooks with your library card - more...

BookNews - electronic newsletters about a wide variety of books - more...

Online Book Clubs - have sample portions of books delivered to your email - more...

JerseyClicks - premium online resources available for free - more...

Postcard to the Troops - more...

Adopt a Platoon - more...

Astronomy Pathfinder

World Wide Web Resources

AstroWeb: Astronomical Internet Resources
http://www.cv.nrao.edu/fits/www/astronomy.html
“A database of nearly everything related to astronomy on the Internet. It is checked automatically for live links three times a day.”

Expanding Universe
http://vrl.tpl.toronto.on.ca/expanding_universe/
"A classified search tool for amateur astronomy." Browse Internet sites relating to astronomy by Dewey classification, or by an alphabetical subject listing.

NED -- The NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database
http://nedwww.ipac.caltech.edu/
"The NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED) is built around a master list of extragalactic objects for which cross-identifications of names have been established, accurate positions and redshifts entered to the extent possible, and some basic data collected.... NED's data and references are being continually updated, with revised versions being put on-line every 2-3 months." Includes a list of frequently asked questions.

The Observatorium
http://observe.arc.nasa.gov/nasa/core.shtml.html
"Introduces the basic concepts and applications of remote sensing using simple examples and jargon-free text. The site is geared toward the general public and assumes no previous knowledge of remote sensing. The site has some material appropriate for K-12 educational uses. The Observatorium also maintains a searchable database providing abstracts and analysis of other remote sensing Internet resources."

Space.com
http://space.com/
"space.com is the definitive site on the World Wide Web dedicated to space and all space-related subjects. It focuses on news, information, education and entertainment. Our primary mission is the popularization of space. Our commitment is to a greater public understanding and enthusiasm about space and space-related subjects."

Print Resources


Reference
The Facts on File dictionary of astronomy New York Facts on File c1994. Call # R  520.3 FA

Moore, Patrick. Cambridge guide to stars and planets Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1997.  Call # R 523 MO

Tirion, Wil.  Sky atlas 2000.0 : twenty-six star charts, covering both hemispheres, and seven detailed charts of selected regions Cambridge, MA, U.S.A. : Sky Pub. ; Cambridge, U.K. : Cambridge University Press, c1998 Call # R 523.8 TI

Non Fiction
Dickinson, Terence. The backyard astronomer's guide Willowdale, Ont. : Firefly Books, 2002. Call # 522 DI

Dunlop, Storm. Collins atlas of the night sky New York, NY : Harper Collins, c2005.
Call # 523.8 DU      

Moore, Patrick. Firefly guide to stars and planets Richmond Hill, Ont. : Firefly Books, 2005. Call # 523 MO      

National Geographic encyclopedia of space Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, c2005. Call # 629.4 NA

Pasachoff, Jay M. A field guide to the stars and planets.  Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2000. Call # 523 PA

Fiction
Taylor, G. P. Wormwood New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2004. Call # F TAY

Periodicals
Astronomy

 

About Us | Site Map | Library Policy | Contact Us| Staff Login | ©2008 The Ocean City Free Public Library