Automotive Repair Pathfinder
Electronic Resources
World Wide Web
Automotive Body Repair News
www.abrn.com
“Automotive Body Repair News is a monthly trade publication serving the collision repair industry. The editorial content is aimed primarily at the collision repair shop owner and his or her technicians. This market is represented mainly by independent or franchise collision repair shops and new or used car dealers with body shops. In addition, ABRN reaches ancillary collision repair establishments such as fleet facilities performing collision repair, specialists in frame or structural repairs and wholesalers or warehouse/distributors specializing in paint, body repair and equipment lines.”
Auto Guide.net
http://www.autoguide.net/partsandservices/advice.shtml
This fantastic site acts as a directory to websites that cater to all the different facets and components of auto repair (i.e. engines, body work, etc), along with model-specific repair manuals.
AutoLit
http://www.autolit.com/index.html
“With over 2 million items in stock, we have the largest selection of ORIGINAL literature. Automobile, Truck, Motorcycle and more from 1900 to present!”
Car Crash Performance Tool
http://info.insure.com/auto/carcrash/carcrash.cfm
“This interactive form will give you crash performance data and repair cost information on any make and model of vehicle built since 1990. The page also includes a "Collision Library", with various articles for car owners who want more information on crash data and collision repair costs.”
Databases
Auto Repair Reference Center
Remote Access (use library card number)
This database contains complete automotive repair manuals as published in the Chilton Total Car Care Series. In addition, this database includes more than 150 easy-to-read, illustrated auto repair manuals on auto repair procedures for more than 21,000 vehicles; more than 56,000 Technical Service Bulletins from 1987 to the present; wiring diagrams in PDF for easy viewing and printing; labor times and estimates for various repairs, and much more. Step-by-step procedures are presented in a manner suitable for professional technicians, but also easily understood by those with limited knowledge of car repair. Auto Repair Reference Center contains information on every major manufacturer of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair manuals for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954.
Print Resources
Non Fiction
Chilton's auto repair manual Call # 629.28 CH
*covers domestic and international models from 1980-1998*
*certain updated manuals are available in the reference collection*
Jackson, Mary. Car smarts : an easy-to-use guide to understanding your car & communicating with your mechanic Santa Fe, N.M. : John Muir Publications, c1998. Call # 629.28 JA
Maddox, Robert The Haynes computer codes & electronic engine management systems manual Sparkford Nr Yeovil, Somerset, England : Haynes Pub. Group ; Newbury Park, Calif. : Haynes North America, c1997. Call # 629.25 MA
Nielsen, John. Making sense of car care Heathrow, Fla. : AAA Publishing, c2001. Call # 629.222 NI
Ramsey, Dan. The complete idiot's guide to trouble-free car care New York, NY : Alpha Books, c1999. Call # 629.287 RA
Sikorsky, Robert. Rip-off, tip-offs : winning the auto repair game Blue Ridge Summit, PA : TAB Books, c1990. Call # 629.28 SI
Sikorsky, Robert. Drive it forever : Secrets to long automobile life Monrovia, CA ATG Media c1997 Call # 629.287 SI
Taylor, Don Paint & body handbook New York : HP Books, c1994. Call # 629.26 TA
Periodicals
Car and Driver
Hot Rod
Motor Trend
Educational Videos
ABOUT YOUR CAR Spotlight Prod. Call # V 629.28 PO
Self defense for car expense [United States?] : Platypus Productions, Inc./Council of the Better Business Bureau, Inc., c1996. Call # V 629.287 SE

Ocean City, NJ, USA