Black History Month Pathfinders

Library News

Employment Opportunities - more...

Non-Resident Card Fee Increase - more...

YouthWorks - more...

Children's programs - Spring 2008 - more...

Email Reference Service - more...

Library Book Blog - more...

Free Wireless Internet - at the library - more...

Email newsletter - get the latest events - more...

Audiobooks - download free audiobooks with your library card - more...

BookNews - electronic newsletters about a wide variety of books - more...

Online Book Clubs - have sample portions of books delivered to your email - more...

JerseyClicks - premium online resources available for free - more...

Postcard to the Troops - more...

Adopt a Platoon - more...

Black History Month Pathfinder

World Wide Web Sites

African American Freedom Fighters -
Written by Melvin Sylvester to accompany an exhibit in honor of Black History Month in the B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library at the C. W. Post Campus of Long Island University.

African American Journey
This World Book site, in honor of Black History Month, covers the slave trade, the antislavery movement, the Civil War, emancipation, Reconstruction through World War II, and the Civil Rights Movement. .
Subjects: African Americans -- History | African Americans -- Civil rights | Racism
 

Black History Month
In celebrating Black History Month, Information Please is featuring articles on black history and biographies of notable African American in politics, history, entertainment, arts, and sports throughout the month. It also offers reference links to top colleges, the Spingarn Medal, Tuskegee syphilis experiment, and chart of preferred racial or ethnic terminology; statistics on population and earnings; a Civil Rights timeline; and a reading list of black literature.
Subject: African Americans -- History

Black History Month Resource Center -
Gale Research's site provides not only historical information, but also biographies, educational activities, and quizzes. The biography section features 60 prominent African-American men and women, whose sketches are derived from the African American Almanac. A briefly annotated timeline highlights events from 1619 to the present. The literature section features summaries of 35 books taken from the Schomburg Center Guide to Black Literature.
Subject: African Americans -- History

Celebrating Black History
Articles, essays, photographs, and transcripts about the African-American experience from Time and Life magazines. Includes "transcripts of TIME.com's exclusive online conversations with newsmakers like Toni Morrison and Angela Davis."
http://www.time.com/time/reports/blackhistory/

 I have a Dream Speech
Full text of the speech delivered by Martin Luther King Jr. in Washington D.C. on August 28, 1963.

National Civil Rights Museum
Official site of the National Civil Rights Museum located in Memphis Tennessee.

Black History Month Resources
A directory of links to sites celebrating Black History Month, including biographies, articles, almanacs, associations, historical events, encyclopedias, periodicals, military and government sources, archives, research centers, and more.

Online Databases

African-American History and Culture: An Online Encyclopedia Library Use Only

Biography Resource Center -(Click on link, then type in Library Barcode #)

History Resource Center -(Click on link, then type in Library Barcode #)

Selected Print Resources:

Reference

African American Almanac-  2nd Edition 2001. 10 volumes Call# R 973.049 AFR

African American Encyclopedia- 2nd Edition 2001. 10 volumes Call# R973.09 AFR

African American Writers: A Dictionary- 2000. Call# R 810.989 AFR

Notable Black American Men- 1999. Call# R 920.71 NO

Notable Black American Women- 1992. 2 volumes Call# R 920.72 NO

Reference Library of Black America-2000. 5 volumes Call# R 973.01 RE

The Timetables of African- American History- 1995. Call# R973.049 AF

Non-Fiction

American Patriots: the Story of Blacks in the Military- 2001. Call# 355 BU

Black Theatre USA: Plays by African Americans- 1996. Call# 812.008 BL

Eyes on the Prize: America’s Civil Rights Years, 1954-1965- Call# 323.4 WI

Fifty Black Women Who Changed America- 1999. Call# 920.72 AL

Follow in Their Footsteps: Biographies of Ten Outstanding African Americans- Call# 920 TU

Martin Luther King Jr.- 2002. Call# B KING

Fiction

Bluest Eye- Toni Morrison. Call# F MOR

Day Late and a Dollar Short- Terry McMillan Call# F McM

Fearless Jones- Walter Mosley Call# F MOS

Singing in the Comeback Choir- Bebe Moore Campbell Call# F CAM

True History- Margaret Cezar-Thompson Call# F CEZ

What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day- Pearl Cleage Call# F CLE

Selected Educational Videos

Famous African Americans- Call# V 973 Fa

The Promised Land: Take me to Chicago- Volume 1. Call# V 973.0496 PR

The Promised Land: A Dream Deferred- Volume 2. Call# V 973.0496 PR

The Promised Land: Strong Men Keep A-Comin On- Volume 3. Call# V 973.0496 PR

 

 

About Us | Site Map | Library Policy | Contact Us| Staff Login | ©2008 The Ocean City Free Public Library