Cancer Pathfinder

Library News

Employment Opportunities - more...

Non-Resident Card Fee Increase - more...

YouthWorks - more...

Children's programs - Spring 2008 - more...

Email Reference Service - more...

Library Book Blog - more...

Free Wireless Internet - at the library - more...

Email newsletter - get the latest events - more...

Audiobooks - download free audiobooks with your library card - more...

BookNews - electronic newsletters about a wide variety of books - more...

Online Book Clubs - have sample portions of books delivered to your email - more...

JerseyClicks - premium online resources available for free - more...

Postcard to the Troops - more...

Adopt a Platoon - more...

Cancer Pathfinder

Electronic Resources

Databases

Consumer Health Complete
Remote Access (use library card number)
Consumer Health Complete™ (CHC) is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.

 Health Source: Consumer Edition
Remote Access (use library card number)
Provides full text for nearly 280 health journals, over 1,200 health pamphlets and 20 health reference books.

World Wide Web Resources
American Cancer Society
http://www.cancer.org/docroot/home/index.asp
"In 1913, 10 physicians and five laymen founded the American Society for the Control of Cancer. Its stated purpose was to "disseminate knowledge concerning the symptoms, treatment, and prevention of cancer; to investigate conditions under which cancer is found; and to compile statistics in regard thereto." Later renamed the American Cancer Society, Inc., the organization now consists of over 2 million Americans working to conquer cancer." This site provides access to information regarding programs and events, publications, meetings, cancer information, education and related sites.

Cancer Care
http://www.cancercare.org/
“Cancer Care provides online information about common types of cancer, aimed especially at patients and their families. They also offer support and referral services to anyone living in the United States through their 800 number.”

Cancer Page
http://www.cancerpage.com/
"Created for patients and their loved ones, we are your trusted source for the latest news, research, and information on prevention, detection, and treatment. We're here as a complete cancer information and community resource to help at a time when you or your loved ones may be frightened or uncertain." Includes a glossary of terms, personal stories and experiences, and a doctor finder.

Find Cancer Experts: Second Opinions for Cancer Diagnosis
http://www.findcancerexperts.com/
“Provides information about evaluating cancer diagnosis and how to contact cancer specialists.”

International Cancer Alliance
http://www.icare.org/
"The International Cancer Alliance (ICA) is a non-profit organization which assists physicians, cancer patients and their families and support groups in assuring that new, high-quality, focused, patient-centered cancer information is available to support the needs of each patient and physician. ICA has developed these programs through its education organization, the International Cancer Academy for Research and Education (ICARE). This organization is operated by a network of people: world-class scientists, clinicians, caring staff and lay volunteers, many who are patients themselves." This site provides access to information regarding cancer patient data, icare programs, patient feedback, expert advice and publications.”

National Cancer Institute
http://www.cancer.gov/
“The National Cancer Institute gives you access to high quality information summaries on treatment, supportive care, screening and prevention, and investigational or newly approved drugs. The treatment and supportive care summaries are available in English and Spanish. It also provides access to fact sheets on over 100 cancer-related topics.”

Oncolink
http://oncolink.upenn.edu/
“Disease Oriented Menus provide information on pediatric and adult cancers. Cancer related articles are found in Cancer News, Global Resources for Cancer Information and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) about CANCER are also links from the main menu.”

Understanding Cancer
http://rex.nci.nih.gov/behindthenews/uc/ucframe.htm
"Discusses and illustrates what cancer is, explains the link between genes and cancer, and discusses what is known about the causes, detection and diagnosis of the disease."

Print Resources
Reference
Cancer sourcebook for women : basic consumer health information about leading causes of cancer in women, featuring facts about gynecologic cancers and related concerns, such as breast cancer, cervical cancer, endometrial cancer, uterine sarcoma, vaginal cancer, vulva cancer, and common non-cancerous gynecologic conditions, in addition to facts about lung cancer, colorectal cancer, and thyroid cancer in women; along with information about cancer risk factors, screening and prevention, treatment options, and tips on coping with life after cancer treatment ... / edited by Amy L. Sutton.  Detroit, MI : Omnigraphics, c2006. Call # R 616.99 CA

The Gale encyclopedia of cancer : a guide to cancer and its treatments.  Detroit : Thomson/Gale, c2005. Call # R 616.99 GA

Oncology pocket guide to chemotherapy Mosby-Wolfe c1997. Call # R 616.9 ON

Panno, Joseph Cancer : the role of genes, lifestyle, and environment New York, NY : Facts On File, c2005. Call # R 616.99 PA

Prostate cancer sourcebook : basic consumer health information about prostate cancer, including information about the associated risk factors, detection, diagnosis, and treatment of prostate cancer, along with information on non-malignant prostate conditions, and featuring a section listing support and treatment centers and a glossary of related terms  Detroit, MI Omnigraphics c2001. Call # R 616.99 PRO

Non Fiction
Chan, David Breast cancer : real questions, real answers New York : Marlowe & Co., c2006. Call # 616.99 CH

Feuerstein, Michael The cancer survivor's guide : the essential handbook to life after cancer New York : Marlowe & Co., c2006. Call # 616.99 FE

Kalick, Rosanne Cancer etiquette : what to say, what to do, when someone you know or love has cancer Scarsdale, NY : Lion Books Publisher, c2004. Call # 616.994 KA

Lyss, Alan P Chemotherapy & radiation for dummies Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, 2005. Call # 616.994 LYS

Mayo Clinic guide to women's cancers Rochester, Minn. : Mayo Clinic, c2005. Call # 616.994 MA

McClay, Edward F 100 questions & answers about melanoma and other skin cancers Boston : Jones and Bartlett, c2004. Call # 616.9947 McC

Pochapin, Mark Bennett What your doctor may not tell you about colorectal cancer : new tests, new treatments, new hope New York : Warner Books, c2004. Call # 616.99 PO

Timmins, Richard D Cancer : origin and prevention Alexandria, VA : Washington House, c2005. Call # 616.99 TI

Torrey, E. Fuller Surviving prostate cancer : what you need to know to make informed decisions New Haven : Yale University Press, c2006. Call # 616.99 TO

Fiction
Cook, Robin Terminal New York : Putnam, c1993. Call # F COO

Gordimer, Nadine Get a life New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2005. Call # F GOR

Hunt, Angela Elwell A time to mend New York : Steeple Hill, c2006. Call # F HUN

Lukasik, Gail Destroying angels Waterville, Me. : Five Star, 2006. Call # F LUK

Sims, Stacy Swimming naked New York : Viking, 2004. Call # F SIM

Educational Videos
Breast cancer New York : Time Life Medical, c1996. Call # V 616.99 BR

CANCER WARRIOR Burlington, VT WGBH Boston Video 2001. Call # V 616.994 CA

Skin cancer New York : Time Life Medical, c1996. Call # V 616.5 KO

About Us | Site Map | Library Policy | Contact Us| Staff Login | ©2008 The Ocean City Free Public Library