Cats Pathfinder

Library News

Employment Opportunities - more...

Non-Resident Card Fee Increase - more...

YouthWorks - more...

Children's programs - Spring 2008 - more...

Email Reference Service - more...

Library Book Blog - more...

Free Wireless Internet - at the library - more...

Email newsletter - get the latest events - more...

Audiobooks - download free audiobooks with your library card - more...

BookNews - electronic newsletters about a wide variety of books - more...

Online Book Clubs - have sample portions of books delivered to your email - more...

JerseyClicks - premium online resources available for free - more...

Postcard to the Troops - more...

Adopt a Platoon - more...

Cats Pathfidner

Electronic Resources

Databases

EBSCO Animals
Remote Access (use library card number)
Offers in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals, including cats. Consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

World Wide Web Resources
About.com: Cats
http://cats.about.com/
“An Internet guide for pet cats, with feature articles, Website links, and discussion forums. Topics covered include adopting cats, allergies, declawing, feral cats, kitten care, and more.”

Cat Fanciers
http://www.fanciers.com/
"We offer General Information about Cats and Cat Care, Cat Breed Descriptions from Abyssinian to Turkish Van, a wide selection of Cat Shows, Cat Clubs and Registries, the latest Veterinary Medicine documents and resources, Breed Rescue, Feline Welfare, and Shelter Information, and of course many Links to other Cat Related Sites." Also includes a Fanciers Breeder Referral List.”

The Cat Fanciers' Association
http://www.cfainc.org/index.html
"CFA has a long and proud history of progressive action including support for feline health research and for the welfare of all cats. It has maintained a focus on quality in its breed standards, registration and pedigrees, as well as in its judging program, clerking program, and, in alliance with its associated clubs, show production." On this site, "you'll find information on cat shows, cat breeds and cat care, and a showcase of top winning cats."

PetEducation.com
http://www.peteducation.com/
“Sponsored and written by veterinarians, this informative site provides information about caring for pets (focused mainly on dogs and cats) and about veterinary medicine. Included are articles about pet care, veterinary procedures and drugs, pet services directories, a dictionary of veterinary terms, and news.”

Print Resources

Reference
The Cat Fanciers' Association cat encyclopedia. New York : Simon & Schuster, c1995. Call # R 636.8 CA

Kelsey-Wood, Dennis.  The atlas of cats of the world : domesticated and wild Neptune City, NJ : T.F.H. Publications, c1989. Call # R 636.8 KE

Wilson, Meredith D. Encyclopedia of American cat breeds [Neptune, N.J.] : T. F. H. Publications, 1978.  Call # R 636.8 WI

Non Fiction
Davis, Caroline Essential cat Pleasantville, N.Y. : Reader's Digest Association, 2005. Call # 636.8 DA

Edney, A. T. B.  ASPCA complete cat care manual London ; New York : Dorling Kindersley, 1992. Call # 636.8 ED

Green, Susie. Talk to your cat : how to communicate with your pet New York : Sterling Pub. Co., 2005. Call # 636.8 GR

Morris, Desmond.  Cat world : a feline encyclopedia New York, N.Y., U.S.A. : Penguin Reference, 1997. Call # 599.74 MO

Simon, John, D.V.M.  What your cat is trying to tell you : a head-to-tail guide to your cat's symptoms--and their solutions New York : St. Martin's Griffin, 1998. Call # 636.8 SI

Stefoff, Rebecca.  Cats New York : Benchmark Books/Marshal Cavendish, c2004. Call # 636.8 ST

Fiction
The Cat Who… series by Lilian Jackson Braun. Call # F BRA

Mrs. Murphy series by Rita Mae Brown. Call # F BRO

Jane Stuart and Winky Mystery series by Evan Marshall. Call # F MAR

Joe Grey Mystery series by Shirley Rousseau Murphy. Call # F MUR

Simon, Clea.  Mew is for murder Scottsdale, AZ : Poisoned Pen Press, 2005. Call # F SIM

Periodicals
Cat Fancy

Educational Videos
Cat DorlingKindersley Vision : BBC Lionheart Television, 1994. Call # V 599.74 CA

Cat care : expert advice for easy training and care Atlanta, GA : Distributed by Northstar Entertainment, [1999], c1998. Call # V 636.8 CA

Cats : caressing the tiger Washington, D.C. : National Geographic Society, c1991. Call # V 636.8 NA

About Us | Site Map | Library Policy | Contact Us| Staff Login | ©2008 The Ocean City Free Public Library