Cooking Pathfinder
Electronic Resources
AllRecipes.com: The Recipe Network
http://www.allrecipes.com/
“A vast library of all kinds of recipes. The categories of recipes include: salad, soup, vegetarian, holiday, baking, chicken, pasta, seafood, and more. Each recipe can be automatically converted to metric measurements at the click of a button. Recipes are grouped by category and alphabetically.”
The Cook's Thesaurus
http://www.foodsubs.com/
"The Cook's Thesaurus is a cooking encyclopedia that covers thousands of ingredients and kitchen tools. Entries include pictures, descriptions, synonyms, pronunciations, and suggested substitutions."
FDA Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
http://vm.cfsan.fda.gov/list.html
“Health and Nutrition information relating to food from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Includes information on additives, chemicals and pesticides; foodborne illnesses; and labeling.”
The Food Lover's Glossary
http://foodstuff.com/English/
“Browsable glossary of words relating to food and cooking.”
Free Food Recipe Online
http://www.foodrecipeonline.com/
“Chinese cuisine, seafood, chocolate, and fruit are the kinds of free recipes that can be found at Food Recipe.”
The Internet Chef
http://www.ichef.com/
"You can find cooking ideas from snacks to full meals right here." Site features include recipes, columns about cooking, cooking tips, and interactive discussions.
Meals.Com
http://www.my-meals.com/Index/Index.aspx
"Meals.Com offers access to an ever-growing collection of over 10,000 recipes, menu suggestions and drink ideas. There is something for everyone to enjoy --- from the cordon bleu chef to the complete kitchen novice. Meals.Com gives you more than just recipes. You can email questions to The Chef, chat about food, select one course, build an entire menu or plan your meals by the week, and print a shopping list that includes all the ingredients from all the recipes you select." Registration required for customized features.
Nutrition.gov
http://www.nutrition.gov/
“Your one stop for online federal information about nutrition, including links on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety. Links to government programs such as the Food Stamp Program, WIC (Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children), and the School Lunch and Breakfast programs, are available here as well.”
RecipeSource
http://www.recipesource.com/
“RecipeSource is an online recipe database project started in 1993 by Berkeley University which now holds over 70,000 recipes. The database is fully searchable by ingredient, type of dish (side, main) and ethnicity. In addition to food recipes, there are recipes for pet treats and hair and skin products, along with cooking hints and tips.”
Print Resources
Reference
Bender, David A. A dictionary of food and nutrition Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005. Call # R 641.03 BE
Schneider, Elizabeth. Vegetables from amaranth to zucchini : the essential reference : 500 recipes and 275 photographs New York : Morrow, c2001. Call # R 641.6 SC
Snodgrass, Mary Ellen Encyclopedia of kitchen history New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004. Call # R 643.3 SN
Waldo, Myra. Dictionary of international food & cooking terms New York, Macmillan Co. [1967] Call # R 641.59 WA
Non Fiction
*Browsing area for cookbooks is 641.5*
The following are general books on cooking as a whole:
Biggs, Matthew. Vegetables, herbs & fruit : an illustrated encyclopedia Buffalo, NY : Firefly, 2006. Call # 641.5 BI
Carucci, Linda. Cooking school secrets for real world cooks San Francisco : Chronicle Books, c2005. Call # 641.5 CA
Crocker, Betty. Betty Crocker cookbook : everything you need to know to cook today. Hoboken, NJ : Wiley, c2005. Call # 641.5 CR
Kitchen secrets : tips, tricks, techniques & recipes. Pleasantville, NY : The Reader's Digest Association, c1997. Call # 641.5 KI
Pépin, Jacques. La technique : the fundamental techniques of cooking : an illustrated guide New York : Quadrangle/New York Times Book Co., c1976. Call # 641.5 PE
Peterson, James. Essentials of cooking New York : Artisan ; Godalming : Melia, 2003. Call # 641.5 PE
Robinson, Kathleen Vegetarian's A to Z guide to fruits & vegetables Tucson, AZ : Fisher Books, c1996. Call # 641.5 RO
Ryan, Kevin, Ph. D. Betty Crocker why it works : insider secrets to great food Hoboken, NJ : Wiley Pub., c2006. Call # 641.5 RY
Fiction
Authors who frequently incorporate cooking/food into their fiction include:
Diane Mott Davidson
Peter King
Tamar Myers
Virginia Rich
Periodicals
Everyday Food From The Kitchens Of Martha Stewart Living
Bon Appetit
Cooking Light
Country Living
Every Day With Rachael Ray
Gourmet
Metropolitan Home
The Monthly Magazine Of Food & Wine
Real Simple
Educational Videos
Video bread : [how to bake bread at home]. Bellingham, WA : Video Bread, 2002. Call # DVD 641.815 VID
Video bread machines : [bread machines in a whole new light] Bellingham, WA : Video Bread, 1997. Call # DVD 641.815 VID
Video pizza 2000 / Stephen J. Ryan. Las Vegas, NV : Video Bread, 2000. Call # V 641.5 VI

Ocean City, NJ, USA