Diabetes Pathfinder
Electronic Resources
Databases
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete™ (CHC) is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as diabetes.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides full text for nearly 280 health journals, over 1,200 health pamphlets and 20 health reference books.
World Wide Web
American Diabetes Association
http://www.diabetes.org/home.jsp
"The American Diabetes Association is the nation's leading voluntary health organization supporting diabetes research, information and advocacy. Founded in 1940, the Association supports an affiliate office in every region of the country, providing services to more than 800 communities." Site contains: "Information about diabetes diagnosis and treatment, the complications diabetes, and living with diabetes. The site also includes information about diabetes research, the Association, the Association's advocacy efforts, and Association events. Of special interest are the interactive diabetes risk test and the recipe of the day feature (includes diabetic exchanges)."
Diabetes.com
http://www.diabetes.com/
“Diabetes.com provides information Type 2 diabetes and is run by GlaxoSmithKline. You can obtain information on how diabetes develops in the body, hear about others' personal experiences with diabetes, and learn about diet.”
Diabetes Dictionary
http://diabetes.niddk.nih.gov/dm/pubs/dictionary/index.htm
"This dictionary of diabetes terms defines words that are often used when talking or writing about diabetes. It is designed for people who have diabetes and their families and friends. It provides basic information about the disease, its long-term effects, and its care."
Joslin Diabetes Center
http://www.joslin.harvard.edu/
“The Joslin Diabetes Center site has diabetes news, research, and educational information. The education center has a library of online information that is particularly helpful for those newly diagnosed with diabetes.”
Diabetes and Public Health Resource
http://www.cdc.gov/diabetes/
“Includes Diabetes Statistics, the patient guide Take Charge of Your Diabetes, Frequently Asked Questions about Diabetes, Diabetes Articles from the CDC, the National Diabetes Fact Sheet and Ask about Diabetes.”
Print Resources
Reference
Diabetes sourcebook : basic consumer health information about type 1 diabetes (insulin-dependent or juvenile-onset diabetes), Type 2 diabetes (noninsulin-dependent or adult-onset diabetes), gestational diabetes, and related disorders... / edited by Dawn D. Matthews. Detroit, MI : Omnigraphics, c2003. Call # R 616.4 DI
Non Fiction
American Diabetes Association complete guide to diabetes. Alexandria, Va. : American Diabetes Association, c2005. Call # 616.462 AM
Guthrie, Diana W. Alternative and complementary diabetes care : how to combine natural and traditional therapies New York : Wiley, 2000. Call # 616.4 GU
Nathan, David M. Beating diabetes : the first complete program clinically proven to dramatically improve your glucose tolerance New York : McGraw-Hill, c2005. Call # 616.462 NA
The uncomplicated guide to diabetes complications Alexandria, VA : American Diabetes Association, 2002. Call # 616.462 UN
Walker, Rosemary. Type 2 diabetes : your questions answered London ; New York : Dorling Kindersley, 2006. Call # 616.462 WA
Fiction
McManus, James. Going to the sun : a novel New York : HarperCollins Publishers, c1996. Call # F MCM
Periodicals
Diabetes Health
Educational Videos
Controlling blood sugar [videorecording] : for health, weight, and balance / Valerie Hall Nutrition; written & presented by Valerie Hall ; executive producer, Lenny Magill. [San Diego, Calif.] : Lenny Magill Productions, c2005. Call # DVD 613.2 CON
T‘ai chi for diabetes [videorecording] / East Action Video. Sydney, Australia : East Action Video, c2001. Call # V 613.7 TA

Ocean City, NJ, USA