Dinosaurs Pathfinder

Library News

Employment Opportunities - more...

Non-Resident Card Fee Increase - more...

YouthWorks - more...

Children's programs - Spring 2008 - more...

Email Reference Service - more...

Library Book Blog - more...

Free Wireless Internet - at the library - more...

Email newsletter - get the latest events - more...

Audiobooks - download free audiobooks with your library card - more...

BookNews - electronic newsletters about a wide variety of books - more...

Online Book Clubs - have sample portions of books delivered to your email - more...

JerseyClicks - premium online resources available for free - more...

Postcard to the Troops - more...

Adopt a Platoon - more...

Dinosaurs Pathfinder

Electronic Resources

World Wide Web Resources
Thunder Lizards: From Science to Fiction
http://www.thunderlizards.com/
“Contains various articles about all sorts of dinosaurs, including pictures (e.g. warm-blooded vs. cold-blooded). The history of dinosaurs will be coming soon on film.”

Dino Russ's Lair: The Earthnet Info Server
http://www.dinoruss.com/
“Earth sciences information, focusing on paleontology. Includes information on dinosaur art, digs, vertebrate paleontology, and much more.”

Dinosauria On-Line Dinosaur Omnipedia
http://www.dinosauria.com/dml/dml.htm
"The Dinosauria On-Line Dinosaur Omnipedia is maintained by Dinosauria On-Line on behalf of the Dinosaur Mailing List for use by the list and the public at large." It contains a dictionary of paleontological terms, a translation and pronunciation guide, a writer's guide, an anatomical dictionary, a type dictionary, a genera list, a dinosauria cladogram of the relationships among dinosauria, a list of geological ages, and maps of ancient earth.

University of California Museum of Paleontology
http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/
“Look at extensive on-line exhibits and educational units that illustrate the history of life on Earth. An on-line catalog provides access to the Museum's enormous collections, the 4th largest in America. Also, see the kinds of research facilities a paleontologist uses.”

DinoData
http://www.dinodata.net/
“A searchable database of 6,000 pages of scholarly information about dinosaurs, including their names and scientific classification, fossil sites, timelines and maps, names of paleontologists who have described and named dinosaurs, and pictures of dinosaurs and dinosaur bones. There is also a database of dinosaur-related references (articles and books). Paleozoica, an amateur paleontological magazine, is available here in PDF format.”

Databases
AccessScience
Access Science is a great resource for information on many different aspects of science, including paleontology.

Science On-line
Remote Access (use library card number)
Science Online is a curriculum-oriented database that offers a comprehensive, authoritative overview of the sciences, including information on dinosaurs. Diagrams, essays, definitions, and biographies are arranged by topic.

Print Resources

Reference
The Simon & Schuster encyclopedia of dinosaurs & prehistoric creatures : a visual who's who of prehistoric life New York : Simon & Schuster, c1999. Call # R 566.03 SI
 
Non Fiction
Gallagher, William B. When dinosaurs roamed New Jersey New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, c1997. Call # 567.9 GA

Haines, Tim.  The complete guide to prehistoric life Buffalo, N.Y. : Firefly Books, 2006. Call # 566 HA

Lessem, Don.  Scholastic dinosaurs A to Z : the ultimate dinosaur encyclopedia New York : Scholastic, c2003. Call # 567.903 LE

Parker, Steve.  Dinosaurs : the complete guide to dinosaurs Buffalo, N.Y. : Firefly Books, 2003. Call # 567.9 PA

Richardson, Hazel. Dinosaurs and prehistoric life London ; New York : Dorling Kindersley, 2003.Call # 567.9 RI

Fiction
Crichton, Michael Jurassic Park New York : Ballantine Books, 1991, c1990. Call # F CRI

Crichton, Michael The lost world : a novel New York : Knopf : Distributed by Random House, 1995. Call # F CRI

Gurney, James Dinotopia : a land apart from time Atlanta : Turner Pub., c1992. Call # F GUR

Leigh, Stephen. Ray Bradbury presents Dinosaur planet : a novel New York : AvoNova, c1993. Call # F LEI

Periodicals
Discover
National Geographic
Natural History
Scientific American

Educational Videos
Dinosaur  [New York] : Dorling Kindersley, 1994. Call # V 567.9 DI

DINOSAUR ! BIRTH OF A LEGEND  New York, N.Y. A & E 1993 Call # V 567.9 CR

Dinosaur ! GIANT BIRDS OF THE AIR  New York, N.Y. A & E 1993 Call # V 567.9 CR

DINOSAUR ! THE FIRST CLUE  New York, N.Y. A & E 1993 Call # V 567.9 CR

Discoveries...Argentina : dinosaurs Issaquah, WA : Bennett-Watt HD productions, Inc., c2001. Call # DVD 567.9 DIS

The complete walking with dinosaurs collection [England] : BBC Video ; Burbank, CA : distributed in the USA by Warner Home Video, c1999-2001. Call # DVD 567.9 CO
**includes “Walking with dinosaurs,” “Walking with prehistoric beasts,” “Allosaurus”**

 

About Us | Site Map | Library Policy | Contact Us| Staff Login | ©2008 The Ocean City Free Public Library