Gardening Pathfinders

Library News

Employment Opportunities - more...

Non-Resident Card Fee Increase - more...

YouthWorks - more...

Children's programs - Spring 2008 - more...

Email Reference Service - more...

Library Book Blog - more...

Free Wireless Internet - at the library - more...

Email newsletter - get the latest events - more...

Audiobooks - download free audiobooks with your library card - more...

BookNews - electronic newsletters about a wide variety of books - more...

Online Book Clubs - have sample portions of books delivered to your email - more...

JerseyClicks - premium online resources available for free - more...

Postcard to the Troops - more...

Adopt a Platoon - more...

Gardening Pathfinder

Web Resources

Rutgers Cooperative Extension
www.rce.rutgers.edu/garden/default.asp
Rutgers Cooperative Extension offers home gardeners extensive, research-based information on many horticultural topics.  Their web site includes links to RCE’s publications, a weed gallery, soil testing information, disease/pest information, and more.

The Garden Web
www.gardenweb.com                            

American Horticultural Society               Garden Gate
www.ahs.org                                        http://garden-gate.prairienet.org

Better Homes and Gardens                    National Gardening Assoc. www.bhg.com                                             www.garden.org

About.com Gardening                               Burpee
http://gardening.about.com                       www.burpee.com

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center   Old Farmer’s Almanac
www.wildflower.org                                   www.almanac.com/garden

PlantAmerica.com                                     WebGarden
www.etera.com                                          http://webgarden.osu.edu/

Garden Helpline

In most counties, Rutgers-trained Master Gardener volunteers are available to answer questions from the public.  The Rutgers Cooperative Extension of Cape May County will take your gardening questions Monday to Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm at (609) 465-5115.

Recommended Reference Books

Gardening by Mail, Barton, Barbara J.  R 635 BA 
Directory of mail-order resources for gardeners, including seed companies, nurseries and suppliers.  Also includes lists of gardening societies, magazines, books and libraries.

Wildflowers of Eastern America, Klimas, John E. & Cunningham, James A.   R 635.9 KL
A descriptive guide with 304 color photographs and a special identification section.

The Encyclopedia of Herbs and Herbalism, Stuart, Malcolm, ed.  R 635.7 EN
Practical and detailed guide to the biology and chemistry of plants with modern applications and detailed information on cultivation, collection, and preservation.

 North American Horticulture, A Reference Guide, American Horticultural Society, Barrett, Thomas M., ed.  R 635.0257 NO
A handbook of horticultural organizations, plant societies, educational programs, public and historic gardens, scholarly organizations, botanical and horticultural libraries, conservation groups, garden club associations, and much more.

The Ward Lock Encyclopedia of Practical Gardening, Pereire, Anita.  R 635 PE
A single-volume guide to garden plants and gardening techniques with information on over 4,000 flowers, trees and shrubs.  Includes quick-reference charts for plant selection. 

Encyclopedia of Perennials: A Gardener’s Guide,  Woods, Christopher.  R 635.932 WO
Extensively illustrated reference to over 3,000 species that offers advice on hardiness, soil and fertilizer, pests and diseases, insects and maintenance.

Flowers of the World, Perry, Francis.  R 635.9 PE
Illustrated by Leslie Greenwood & published in collaboration with the Royal Horticultural Society.  Over 800 color illustrations make it a good resource for identifying flowers.

A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants, Brickell, Christopher & Zuk, Judith D. 
More than 15,000 ornamental plants are covered.  All names are completely up to date with previous names given as cross-references. 

Journal and Magazine Articles

The library subscribes to the following gardening magazines and journals:

Better Homes & Gardens
Coastal Living
Country Living
Family Handyman
Home
Horticulture
House Beautiful
Martha Stewart Living
Metropolitan Home
Mother Earth News
Traditional Home

Other publications that include gardening articles are:  Family Circle, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, & Women’s Day.

Subject Headings and Dewey Decimal Locations for Gardening Topics:
Bulbs                                                                  Indoor gardening
Color in gardening                                           Landscape gardening
Container gardening                                       Low maintenance gardening
Flower gardening                                             Mulching
Fruit--culture (or names of fruit)                     Native plant gardening
Garden pests                                                    Organic gardening
Gardeners                                                          Pruning
Gardens                                                              Seashore gardening
Greenhouses                                                    Seaside gardening
Herb gardening                                                Square foot gardening
Horticulture                                                        Vegetable gardening

 

 

 

 

About Us | Site Map | Library Policy | Contact Us| Staff Login | ©2008 The Ocean City Free Public Library