Genealogy Pathfinder
Electronic Resources
World Wide Web Resources
Beginner's Guide to Family History Research
http://www.arkansasresearch.com/guide.html
"If you can't even spell the word g-e-n-e-a-l-o-g-y, this is the place for you to start. Everyone has ancestors, and if you're wondering who yours are, it's time to get involved in family history and genealogy research." This resource is divided into 13 short chapters that will take a beginner through the basics of genealogy research. There's a glossary of terms and a list of other genealogy resources.”
Camden County Public Library
http://www.camden.lib.nj.us/genealogy/genealogy.htm
Get genealogy information specifically related to New Jersey.
Genealogy Buff
http://www.genealogybuff.com/
“Genealogy Buff is a free genealogy website designed especially for novice researchers of genealogical information. Its key features include a thorough surname search tool and an easily navigable homepage organized by topics that link to both free and subscription based genealogy websites.”
Genealogy FAQ
http://www.census.gov/genealogy/www/faqgene.txt
“A FAQ from the U.S. Census Bureau. Answers many basic genealogy questions, particularly in the realm of government information sources.”
Genealogy and Family History Internet Web Directory
http://www.academic-genealogy.com/
“This comprehensive resources provides links to information on almost all aspects of family history research. The mission is to promote scholarly educational access to all key worldwide Internet genealogical and family history databases and resources. It is divided up by region as well as by topic. There is also a feature to search the website.”
Genealogical Research at the National Archives
http://www.nara.gov/genealogy/
"Genealogists are the most numerous users of the Washington, DC, research rooms, and 13 regional records service facilities of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). This area provides many of the finding aids, guides, and research tools that can prepare you for a visit to one of our facilities or for requesting records from NARA." There are essays on different aspects of genealogical research and links to other sources of information.
Ocean City Library's List of Genealogy Websites
http://www.oceancitylibrary.org/services/sources/genealogy.html
A comprehensive list of websites compiled by the Reference Staff of the library.
RootsWeb
http://www.rootsweb.com/
"The Internet's Oldest and Largest Genealogy Community" RootsWeb offers a host of genealogical resources, including search engines and databases (surnames, county and state records, the Social Security Death Index), a listserv, discussion groups, and related links.”
Databases
Ancestry Library Edition
(Library use only)
A new genealogy research tool created for the library market. It provides patrons with instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more! These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.
Heritage Quest Online
Remote Access (use library card number)
Your library's resource for census data, family records, and local histories. This collection assembles every extant U.S. federal census, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, genealogical and local history serials, and more. An ongoing project (new content is added regularly), HeritageQuest Online will grow to encompass the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Freedman’s Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Index, and additional materials.
Print Resources
Reference
Ferraro, Eugene F How to obtain birth, death, marriage, divorce & adoption records
Santa Ana, CA : Marathon Press International, c1989. Call # R 351.816 FE
Kemp, Thomas Jay. The genealogist's virtual library : full-text books on the World Wide Web. Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, 2000. Call # R 025.06 KE
Howells, Cyndi. Cyndi's list : a comprehensive list of 40,000 genealogy sites on the Internet Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co., c1999. Call # R 929 HO
The new Jersey coast in three centuries : history of the New Jersey coast with genealogical and historic-biographical appendix / William Nelson, editor. New York ; Chicago : Lewis Pub. Co., 1902. Call # LHC 974.9 NEL v.1-3
Printed sources : a guide to published genealogical records. edited by Kory L. Meyerink.
Salt Lake City, Utah : Ancestry, c1998. Call # R 016.929 PR
Rising, Marsha Hoffman Family tree problem solver : proven methods for scaling the inevitable brick wall Cincinnati, OH : Family Tree Books, c2005. Call # R 929.1 RI
Wright, Raymond S The genealogist's handbook : modern methods for researching family history Chicago : American Library Association, 1995. Call # R 929.1 WR
Non Fiction
Best, Laura. Genealogy for the first time : research your family history New York : Sterling Pub. Co., c2003. Call # 929.1 BE
Carmack, Sharon DeBartolo Your guide to cemetery research Cincinnati, Ohio : Betterway Books, 2002. Call # 929.5 CA
Hahn, Pamela Rice. The unofficial guide to online genealogy Foster City, CA : IDG Books Worldwide, c2001. Call # 929.102 HAH
Hendrickson, Nancy Finding your roots online Cincinnati, Ohio : Betterway Books, c2003. Call # 929.1 HE
Hull, Lise. Tracing your family history : the complete guide to locating your ancestors and finding out where you came from Pleasantville, N.Y. : Reader's Digest, c2006. Call # 929.1 HU
McClure, Rhonda R. Digitizing your family history : easy methods for preserving your heirloom documents, photos, home movies and more in a digital format Cincinnati, Ohio : Family Tree Books, c2004. Call # 929.1 MC
Morgan, George G How to do everything with your genealogy New York : McGraw-Hill/Osborne, c2004. Call # 929.107 MOR
Fiction
Holt, Hazel Mrs. Malory and a death in the family : a Sheila Malory mystery New York, N.Y. : Signet, c2006. Call # F HOL
MacPherson, Rett. A veiled antiquity : a novel New York : St. Martin's Press, 1998. Call # F MAC
Periodicals
Everton's genealogical helper
Educational Videos
ENGLAND AND YOUR ENGLISH ANCESTRY Heritage Corp. 1993 Call # V 306.8 EN

Ocean City, NJ, USA