Genetics Pathfinder
Electronic Resources
Databases
AccessScience
Remote Access (use your library barcode)
AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials with access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News® headlines, biographies, and more.
Today's Science
Remote Access (use library card number)
Drawing on major scientific journals, magazines and newspapers in the U.S. and abroad. Covers all topics that today's students study, including genetics. (This service was partially funded by the South Jersey Regional Library Cooperative.)
World Wide Web Resources
DNA From the Beginning
http://www.dnaftb.org/dnaftb/
“This interactive site provides 40 simple lessons explaining the basics of classical genetics, the molecules of genetics, and genetic organization and control. "The science behind each concept is explained by: animation, image gallery, video interviews, problems, biographies, and links." (Flash and Quicktime installation is required for interactive features.)”
Genetics Home Reference
http://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/
“This site from the National Library of Information provides "consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions." Content includes a basic handbook on genetics, genetic testing, and gene therapy; a database of information on genetic conditions (which can be searched or browsed); and resource links covering education, policy, and patient support.”
Genetic Education Center
http://www.kumc.edu/gec/
“Everything you could ever want to know about genetics and gene makeup. Includes links to many other sites about genetics as well as resources for educators teaching about genetics.”
Genetic Science Learning Center
http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/
“This extensive primer on genetics and genetic technology includes lessons on the basics of genetics, genetic disorders, cloning, pharmacogenomics, and gene therapy. The site also provides virtual molecular genetics lab experiments, as well as protocols for at-home experiments and lesson plans for teachers.”
Molecular Genetics Primer
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/About/primer/genetics_molecular....
“This primer from the National Center for Biotechnology Information describes several of the basic techniques currently used in molecular genetics, including DNA and mRNA isolation, polymerase chain reaction (PCR), gel electrophoresis, DNA sequencing, chromosome analysis, and more.”
Print Resources
Reference
Encyclopedia of genetics / editor, revised edition, Bryan D. Ness ; editor, first edition, Jeffrey A. Knight. Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, c2004. Call # R 576.503 EN
World of genetics Farmington Hills, MI Gale Group c2002. Call # R 576.5 WOR
Non Fiction
Bailey, Jill. Genetics and evolution : the molecules of inheritance New York : Oxford University Press, 1995. Call # 576.5 BA
Encyclopedia of genetics / editor, Jeffrey A. Knight ; project editor, Robert McClenaghan Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, c1999. Call # 576.5 EN
Jenkins, Morton. Genetics Chicago, IL Teach yourself Books c1998. Call # 576.5 JE
Keller, Evelyn Fox The century of the gene Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, c2000. Call # 576.5 KE
McElheny, Victor K. Watson and DNA : making a scientific revolution Cambridge, MA : Perseus Pub., c2003. Call # 572.8 MC
The New York Times book of genetics / edited by Nicholas Wade. Guilford, Ct. : Lyons Press, c2002. Call # 576.5 NE
Watson, James D. DNA : the secret of life New York : Alfred A. Knopf : Distributed by Random House, 2003. Call # 576.5 WA
Yount, Lisa. Genetics and genetic engineering New York : Facts on File, c1997. Call # 576.5 YO
Fiction
Crichton, Michael Next : a novel New York : HarperCollins Publishers, 2006. Call # F CRI
Follett, Ken. The third twin : a novel New York : Crown Publishers, c1996. Call # F FOL
Grace, Tom Twisted web Pocket Books, c2003. Call # F GRA
Johansen, Iris. Long after midnight New York : Bantam Books, c1997. Call # JOH
Koontz, Dean R. Fear nothing New York : Bantam Books, c1998. Call # F KOO

Ocean City, NJ, USA